Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Minnesota commodity councils elect new leadership

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Agriculture producers in Minnesota have elected new members to serve on the barley, corn and soybean commodity research and promotion councils.  Each board membership position serves a three year term.

The councils play an important role in developing and promoting Minnesota farm products, including grains and meats.  “Commodity council elections allow producers a say in how their check-off dollars are spent. It’s very important they take advantage of this opportunity and I want to thank all the candidates and producers who took the time to cast a ballot,” said Minnesota Department of Agriculture Commissioner, Dave Frederickson.

2014 commodity council elections for barley, corn and soybean:

Barley Research and Promotion Council
Brian Lacey, Wendell

Corn Research and Promotion Council
District 1, 2 & 4 - Dwight Mork, Bellingham
District 7 - Richard Peterson, Mountain Lake
District 8 - Jerry Demmer, Clarks Grove
District 9 - Marty Amundson, Zumbrota

Soybean Research and Promotion Council
District 1, 2 & 3 - Drew Parsley, Warroad
District 4 - Patrick O’Leary, Benson
District 5 & 6 - Patrick Sullivan, Franklin
District 7 - Craig Bangasser, Garvin
District 8 - Rochelle Krusemark, Trimont