Monday, May 19, 2014

DNR lifted burning restrictions in 18 Minnesota counties

Burning restrictions were lifted May 16 in all or parts of 18 central Minnesota counties due to decreased fire danger because of wet conditions and green up moving northward, according to the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources,

Counties include: Anoka, Benton, Chisago, Dakota, Douglas, Isanti, Hennepin, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Pope, Ramsey, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Washington and Wright.

Although the state burning restrictions are lifted in these counties, local areas, counties or municipalities may have specific regulations or restrictions that affect burning operations.  Please check with local authorities to obtain proper permits before burning.

Because fire danger can change quickly, DNR foresters are able to turn off burning permits in individual counties whenever conditions warrant.  This could occur if there is a dry, windy day where fires could start easily and burn quickly.

Check the fire restrictions page on the DNR website at for information on daily changes to burn permits. 

The DNR advises anyone doing burning to keep burn piles small, have a water supply nearby, and stay with the fire until it is completely out. If the fire escapes, the homeowner is responsible for the damage and suppression costs.

Burning permits are available through state and federal forestry offices, from local fire wardens, or online by paying a $5 fee per calendar year. Online permits need to be activated on the day of the burn. See

Burning restrictions remain in place in Aitkin, Becker, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk (part), Roseau, southern St. Louis, and Wadena counties. Restrictions will remain until sufficient green up occurs.